Witcher Series Read Along

The Witcher video games are based on a series of Polish language books by Andrzej Sapkowski, almost all of which have been translated into English at this point.  The books follow Witcher Geralt of Rivia as he plies his trade of monster hunting in a fun sword and sorcery series.

Wanna read it with me?

Here’s how it works.  I’m going to read a chapter or two (depending on length) a week and write a blog entry about it.  You can read along with me by following my blog (and feel free to join the conversation on Twitter!).  I won’t be reading ahead, so if there’s a surprise twist, you’ll read it at the same time I do.  If you’re a fantasy fan, you’ll get to read a fun novel series with commentary.  If you’re a writer, you’ll get an idea of what it’s like for someone to read your novel through the first time, and see how they react to confusion, plot twists, and good and bad moments.

Here’s the reading order I’m going with:

The Last Wish (short story collection)
Sword of Destiny (short story collection)
Blood of Elves
Time of Contempt
Baptism of Fire
The Swallow’s Tower
Lady of the Lake (English version due in 2017)

There’s also Season of Storms, but that doesn’t have an English release date yet.

The Last Wish is a short story collection with a frame story entry in between each short story that ties them all together.  I’ll be reading them in chunks of 1 frame story (The Voice of Reason 1-7) and 1 short story, so for next Wednesday, I’ll be reading The Voice of Reason 1 and The Witcher.  That’s through page 41 in this edition.

Happy reading and see you on Wednesday!

Comments are closed.